AUC Student Council

The Student Council is the representative body of the students at AUC. The Student Council consists of five members elected by the students annually in May. The Student Council is responsible for nominating representatives to take the four student seats in the AUC Board of Studies. The four teaching staff members together with the four student members nominated by the Student Council form the AUC Board of Studies.   

The Student Council 2018-2019 consists of:

  • Sarah Salaymah (Co-chair)
  • Juanita García Gutiérrez (Co-chair)
  • Viktoria Kaffanke (Secretary)
  • Paula García de la Paz (Internal Communications)
  • Bart Knibbe (External Communications)
Sarah AUCSC 2018-2019

Sarah Salaymah (Co-chair)

Sarah is a third-year Social Sciences student focusing on peace, conflict and security studies. Together with Juanita, she will take on the position of co-chair within the 2018-2019 Student Council. Besides this, her main goals include facilitating student initiatives in bringing about change in the dorms through close cooperation with the Tenants Association; to enhance student involvement in AUC’s curriculum through building a platform in which students' voices can be heard; and to improve the perceived visibility and approachability of the Student Council among AUC students. Together with Bart, Paula, Viki and Juanita, Sarah aims for next year’s Student Council to be pro-active in realising projects based on student representation, to be responsive to what is happening in in the AUC community and to be approachable and visible for all students.

Juanita AUCSC 2018-2019

Juanita García Gutiérrez (Co-chair)

Juanita is a third-year Social Sciences student interested in environmental policy. Acting as co-chair of the 2018-2019 Student Council, she will focus on environmentally friendly changes within the academic building and also on revising and improving the curriculum. She would also like to see more student involvement and is excited to work closely with all students. Improving the overall student experience is her main goal.

Viktoria AUCSC 2018-2019

Viktoria Kaffanke (Secretary)

Viktoria is the secretary and treasurer of the Student Council 2018 2019 at AUC.  She is in her third year at AUC and will be finishing her degree in the Social Sciences with a focus on International Relations. Like her studies, she likes learning about how society, and how each individual therein, can change and improve their own reality. She is extremely excited to see what this next year will bring in terms of student representation, as well as AUC as a community and an academic institute.

Paula AUCSC 2018-2019

Paula García de la Paz (Internal Communications)

Paula is a third-year Social Sciences student focusing on health and anthropology. Within the student council, she will be responsible for Internal Communications, aiming to engage the student body and facilitate communication and transparency between students, lecturers, staff and management. Aside from this, Paula will be focusing on increasing sustainability, making the student council more approachable and on improving the student experience. She is very excited to listen to student ideas and concerns, and will strive to ensure that these opinions are implemented when feasible.

Bart AUCSC 2018-2019

Bart Knibbe (External Communications)

Bart is a second-year student majoring in the Humanities. In the Student Council of 2018-2019, he will hold the position of External Communications Officer. His main task is to represent the student body of AUC to the UvA and the VU, while also liaising with representatives of other University Colleges in the Netherlands. Moreover, he will be working closely with AUC’s Tenants Association, a committee set up to better student life in the dorms. Bart will also regularly meet with DUWO to work on a sustainable and reciprocal relationship between tenant and landlord. He will also attempt to sustain the participatory leadership paradigm at AUC by, for example, organising Voices of AUC, to carry on the work started by his predecessors in the realm of the master’s transition and to make the presence of the Student Council known within the AUC community.

Published by  Amsterdam University College

20 August 2018