For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.
Amsterdam University College (AUC) is a cooperation of two science faculties of the University of Amsterdam (UvA) and Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VU): the UvA Faculty of Science and the VU Faculty of Science. 

The top governance of AUC is formed by the Deans (decanen) of these science faculties, and the AUC Dean reports to them. As AUC’s top governing body (Board), the Deans of the science faculties report to the Executive Boards of the VU and UvA.

Members of the AUC Board

The Deans of the science faculties of the UvA and VU and members of the AUC Board are: 

  • Prof. Dr. Aletta Kraneveld, Dean of the VU Faculty of Science
  • Prof. Dr. Peter van Tienderen, Dean of UvA Faculty of Science


The Deans of the science faculties are jointly responsible for AUC’s strategic management, its education policy and its implementation, its policies with regard to buildings, finances, and human resources, and its quality assurance system. They are also responsible for adopting AUC’s Academic Standards and Procedures and monitoring their implementation. They appoint the Board of Studies, the Board of Examiners and the International Advisory Board, and adopt AUC’s budget and year plan.

The Deans of the science faculties are supported by an advisory Council of Deans