For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.

Management Team

The AUC Management Team (MT) is composed of four members and is supported by the College Secretary. A student assessor is also appointed each year in an advisory role.

AUC Management Team 

The four members of the AUC Management Team (MT) are the Dean (chair), the Director of Education, one of the Heads of Studies or the Senior Tutor (rotating on an annual basis) and one of the Heads of the administrative departments (rotating on an annual basis). A student assessor is also appointed on an annual basis and attends the MT meetings in an advisory role. The MT is supported by the College Secretary who also attends the meetings.  

AUC's Management Team 2023-2024
  • Prof. Dr. Martin van Hees (Dean)
    Prof. Dr. Martin van Hees
    Prof. Dr. Martin van Hees

    Prof. Dr. Martin van Hees is Dean of Amsterdam University College.

    Prof. Dr. Martin van Hees is Dean of Amsterdam University College and professor of Moral and Political Philosophy at the Department of Philosophy of VU Amsterdam. Previously he held chairs at the University of Amsterdam and University of Groningen. Van Hees' research interests concern the foundations of (moral and political) liberalism. He works on theories of freedom, the analysis of moral responsibility, and the ethics of cooperation and his research has a strong interdisciplinary focus. He has held visiting professorships in Germany (Adam-Smith-Professor of Philosophy and Economics, Bayreuth), China and India. He is a member of the board of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) and serves as chair of the Academy’s humanities domain.

  • Dr. Marianne Riphagen (Director of Education)
    Portrait of Dr. Marianne Riphagen
    Dr. Marianne Riphagen

    Dr. Marianne Riphagen is AUC's Director of Education.

    Dr. Marianne Riphagen is AUC's Director of Education. She served as Head of Studies Academic Core from August 2019 through January 2023. Marianne is a cultural anthropologist specialised in Pacific Studies. Since 2004, she has conducted research with indigenous peoples based in Australia’s metropolitan and desert regions. Her research interests include contemporary indigenous art, economic anthropology and visual anthropology. Marianne is the recipient of the 2006 Endeavour Europe Award and the 2009 Radboud University’s Frye Stipend. In 2011, she received her PhD from Radboud University Nijmegen based on her dissertation entitled “Indigenous Cosmopolitans: Up-and-Coming Artists and their Photomedia Works in Australian and International Visual Art Worlds”. Since then, she has worked at the Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore, United States; at the Australian National University in Canberra, Australia; and at Radboud University Nijmegen. As a lecturer, Marianne has taught Bachelor' and Master's students about a range of subjects, notably academic writing and research methods within the social sciences. 

  • Dr. Maarten Boerlijst (Head of Studies, Sciences)
    Portrait of Maarten Boerlijst
    Dr. Maarten Boerlijst

    Dr. Maarten Boerlijst is AUC's Head of Studies Sciences.

    Dr. Maarten Boerlijst is AUC’s Head of Studies Sciences. He obtained his PhD in Bioinformatics and Theoretical Biology from Utrecht University in 1994. He was a post-doctoral fellow at Oxford University until 1997, after which he moved back to the Netherlands to become a Royal Netherlands Academy for Arts and Sciences fellow. Since 2005, he has been an Assistant Professor at the University of Amsterdam, and since 2009 he has been Programme Director of the Bachelor’s programme in Biology.

    His research areas have been broad, including evolution in the primordial soup, the dynamics of infectious diseases, the evolution of cooperative behaviour and the consequences of spatial self-organisation and collective behaviour.

  • Ingrid van Loon (Head of Operations and Finances)
    Ingrid van Loon portrait
    Ingrid van Loon

    Ingrid van Loon is AUC's Head of Operations and Finances.

    Ingrid van Loon has been AUC's Head of Operations and Finances since 1 November 2022. She was formerly AUC's Interim Managing Director (until October 2022). She studied business management and cultural anthropology. Since 1996, Ingrid has held various operational management functions at the University of Amsterdam. She started as administrator of an EC-funded project for extending a Western European Network of Excellence to Central and Eastern Europe, and as coordinator of the successful Master of Logic programme. She also served as operational manager of the interdisciplinary Institute for Logic, Language and Computation for five years and from 2013 to 2022, she held this same function at the support organisation for education of UvA’s Faculty of Science (ESC).

Student Assessor
College Secretary
  • Dr. Belinda Stratton (College Secretary)
    Dr. Belinda Stratton
    Dr. Belinda Stratton

    Dr. Belinda Stratton is AUC's College Secretary.

    Until June 2022, Dr. Stratton served as AUC's Managing Director. Dr. Stratton obtained her BSc (Honours) and PhD in Chemistry at the University of East Anglia in the UK, with a study abroad period at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. After her studies, she worked in an editorial department of the scientific publishing company Pergamon Press before moving to the Netherlands and starting to work at the European Association for International Education (EAIE) in 1993. She was the EAIE's Publications and Information Manager when she was recruited to the AUC team at the end of 2007.