Your major

AUC offers majors in sciences, social sciences and humanities. All students choose one of three majors at their time of applying and confirm their choice at the end of their first year of studies.

The three majors (sciences, social sciences, humanities) are at the top of the chart in bold, followed by the various areas of specialisation (concentrations). 


Social Sciences


Maths Health Literature
Physics Anthropology Film
Earth & Environment  Sociology Philosophy
Chemistry Economics History
Biology Law Culture
Biomedical Political Science Art
Health International Relations Media
Information Environmental
Economics & Policy

What a major consists of

Your major includes:

  • Two methods courses in the major
  • the introductory (100-level) and advanced (300-level) courses in your chosen theme
  • 10 disciplinary courses 
    • At least three of which must be at the 300-level
  • the necessary Academic Core requirements (see Academic Standards and Procedures)
  • your Capstone (Bachelor's thesis)

Below you will find links to overviews of all the major courses offered in the academic year 2018-2019.

Choosing courses for your major

Together with your tutor, you will choose 10 courses in your major with consideration to your chosen theme, subjects that interest you and your future ambitions. Your tutor will ensure that the courses you choose are coherent and will qualify you for specific Master's programmes or career paths. 

The major courses you choose are also relevant to one or more of AUC's themes and are designed not only to deepen your knowledge, but also to build your understanding of the relationships between different fields of knowledge. Please note that a theme serves as the background to a major. AUC students major in sciences, social sciences or humanities.

Concentrations and specialisation

Your package of major courses will include a concentration. This means that you will select specific fields of knowledge and 'concentrate' your studies on them, taking a certain number of courses up to an advanced level. This brings coherence to your programme and ensures that you achieve a sufficient depth of knowledge in a specific subject area.

Your choice of major also influences the set of Academic Core courses that you have to complete, with different mathematics and methodology courses for the different majors.

Published by  Amsterdam University College

3 August 2018