AUC team wins 'Best Lawyers' at Amsterdam Law Trials

13 June 2017

On Friday, 9 June, an AUC team consisting of students Eden Benat, Minne Pereboom and Tobias Traxler were named the Best Lawyer Team at the Amsterdam Law Trials moot court competition after winning a final face-off with the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam team. In addition to the winning team, AUC student Nathan Cooper was named the runner-up for best debater of the competition.

AUC wins Amsterdam Law Trials

AUC students Eden Benat, Minne Pereboom and Tobias Traxler

Four month moot court competition

In 2017, AUC students participated in the Amsterdam Law Trials for the first time. A four-month moot court competition, they have been partaking in simulated court proceedings against teams from UvA-PPLE (Politics, Psychology, Law and Economics) and the Honours programmes of University of Amsterdam and Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam.

From AUC, 16 students joined the competition, which included guidance and preparation from judges from the Court of Amsterdam and lawyers from local law firms De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek, Spong Advocaten, Prakken d’Oliveira Human Rights Lawyers, Lemstra Van der Korst, Stibbe, Pijnenburg, Van der Woude De Graaf Advocaten and Hoyng Rokh Monegier.

AUC wins Amsterdam Law Trials

AUC student Nathan Cooper

Finals and prizes for law school

The final competition took place on Friday, 9 June, at the Singelkerk in Amsterdam. After a long process, it was decided that the AUC team of Eden Benat, Minne Pereboom and Tobias Traxler were the Best Lawyer Team, winning their case. For their efforts, each member of the team was awarded 1500 EUR to use toward pursuing a Master’s degree in Law.

AUC Students Amsterdam Law Trials

Congratulations to all participants

AUC would like to congratulate all of the students who participated in the Amsterdam Law Trials, including the following from AUC:

  • Jasmijn de Zeeuw
  • Rolinde Roijers
  • Eden Benat
  • Fietje van den Berg
  • Lubomir Leegwater
  • Minne Pereboom
  • Klaudia Klonowska
  • Johana Ramaer
  • Laurien Knorringa
  • Tess Castelijn
  • Lehna Romer
  • Tobias Traxler
  • Laura Wennekes
  • Sofie Lameris
  • Nathan Cooper
  • Charlotte Verboom

AUC would also like to especially acknowledge third-year student Thomas Litan, who helped to organise the Amsterdam Law Trials and guided the students through the competition process.

Published by  Amsterdam University College